Kingdom of the Netherlands

June 23, 2015

The Kingdom of the Netherlands (Dutch: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden ; Dutch pronunciation: [ˈkoːnɪŋkrɛik dɛr ˈneːdərlɑndə(n)]; Papiamento: Reino Hulandes), commonly known as the Netherlands, is a sovereign state and constitutional monarchy with territory in western Europe and in the Caribbean. The four parts of the kingdom – Aruba, Curaçao, the Netherlands, and Sint Maarten – are referred to as countries (landen in Dutch) and participate on a basis of equality as partners in the kingdom. In practice, however, most of the kingdom affairs are administered by the Netherlands (which comprises roughly 98% of the kingdom’s land area and population) on behalf of the entire kingdom. This means that Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten are dependent on the Netherlands for matters like foreign policy and defence, although they are autonomous to a certain degree with their own parliaments.
The vast majority of the constituent country of the Netherlands (as well as the kingdom) is located in Europe, with the exception of its three special municipalities (Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius) that are located in the Caribbean. The constituent countries of Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten are located in the Caribbean as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *